K T Irfan wins bronze in Asian 20km Race Walk Championships

National record holder K T Irfan clocked an impressive timing to win a bronze in the 20 kilometre men’s event in the Asian Race Walk Championships in Japan on Sunday. In the event held at Nomi, Irfan finished the race in 1 hour 20 minutes and 59 seconds, a tad slower than his national record timing of 1 hour, 20 minutes, 21 seconds. He had set the national recod while finishing 10th in the 2012 London Olympics.
Korea’s Kim Hyun-Sub took the gold in while Georgiy Sheiko of Kazakhstan bagged the silver in the event. In the women’s 20 kilometre event, India’s Priyanka failed to climb the podium as she finished fourth.

China’s Wang Na comfortably won the gold medal. Japan’s walker Kumiko Okada finished second, while Yeongeun Jeon of Korea took the third place.